Metropolitan Law Enforcement Council (MetroLEC)

Purpose of the Metropolitan Law Enforcement Council

The Braintree Police Department is a member of the Metropolitan Law Enforcement Council. METROLEC is a consortium of over 43 localMetroLEC area police departments and law enforcement agencies. It is impossible for every community to be fully trained and equipped for every possible contingency. Therefore, local communities have banned together, with organizations such as METROLEC, uniting to help each other and making us all safer in the end. The member communities acknowledge that certain critical incidents call for a law enforcement response that may exceed the capabilities of any one single agency. METROLEC was designed for these type of incidents.

Operational Components

METROLEC consists of several operational components comprised of personnel from throughout the METROLEC communities. These units receive specialized training and equipment and are available to assist any of the member communities in their time of need. Metro SWAT

The council currently operates seven unique divisions:

  • Canine Unit (K9)
  • Computer Crime Unit (CCU)
  • Crisis Negotiation Team (CNT)
  • Mobile Operations Motorcycle Unit (MOP)
  • Regional Response Team (RRT)
  • Special Weapons and Tactics (SWAT)
  • Marine Unit